Tours | Categories (New, Hot) | Map
Alcohol - Ancient - Animal - Architecture - Art - Aviation - Boxing - Celebrity - Charity - Children - Church - Cinema - Comedy - Crime - Dance - Death - Disaster - Drugs - Fashion - Food - Gambling - Ghost - Grave - Health - Historical - Industry - Justice - LGBT - Literary - Look Up - Medical - Military - Motoring - Murder - Museum - Music - Nature - Naval - Paranormal - Pioneer - Poetry - Police - Politics - Pub - Public Amenities - Quirky - Religion - Retail - Ripper - River - Royalty - Science - Sculpture - Sex - Signs - Society - Sport - Subterranean - Technology - Theatre - Train - Transport - Tube - TV - Weather -
IN THE NEWS
TOUR OF THE MONTH
ON THIS DAY IN LONDON
20th April 1945 Born today: Jimmy Winston, London, organist (Samll Facres-Itchycoo Park)
20th April 1906 Australian wombat, oldest known marsupial, dies in London Zoo at 26.
20th April 1904 George Bernard Shaw's Candida, premieres in London
20th April 1879 1st mobile home (horse drawn) used in a journey from London and Cyprus
20th April 1715 Nicholas Rowe's Tragedy of Lady Jane Gray, premieres in London
The Hill in Hampstead
Fabulous colonaded gardens on the fringes of Hampstead Heath.
Location: Inverforth Close, North End Way, Hampstead, NW11 7EX
Description: The Hill is a house on Hampstead Heath sitting in about 3.5 hectares of splendid gardens designed by Thomas Mawson using fill from Northern Line excavations. The site was first laid out in 1896 and redeveloped in about 1910.
The Pergola Walk, linking the formal gardens of the main house and the more gentle lawns of the lower garden is the main feature. The gardens exhibit a rare example of the period 1910-1925, with a unique atmosphere of mellowed classicism.
The dramatic contrast between the towering trees of West Heath and exotic plants climbing the graceful Pergola offers a unique experience.
Designed by Mawson for Lord Leverhulme they are now managed by the local borough council. Thomas Mawson was the first president of the Institute of Landscape Architects and worked in the Arts and Crafts style.
The pergola and gardens were restored and opened to the public in 1963 as 'The Hill Gardens'. Site is open to the public but opening may be limited.