Duck Island Cottage
Ornate hidden cottage in St James's Park.
Location: Duck Island, St James's Park
Description: Hidden from public eyes is Duck Island, dating from the original use of St James's Park as a hunting park.
Charles II converted it to a baroque park and created the post of 'Governor of Duck Island' and William III had the first lodge built.
It was destroyed in 1771 and rebuilt after 1840, as a Picturesque cottage designed by John Burges Watson. In 1953 it was nearly demolished but, instead, was preserved by Royal Fine Art Commission as a keeper's cottage.
In 1994 it became the headquarters of the London Historic Parks and Gardens Trust.
Ornate hidden cottage in St James\'s Park.
Ranking This Month: 1403/3019
Pages Hit This Month: 49
Other places nearby:
Ruislip Woods», 14.km
Greenberry Hill», 2.8km
Vauxhall Park», 1.3km
Northfields Allotments», 8.0km
Pimlico Gardens and Huskisson», 1.1km
The Phoenix Garden», 0.8km
Oak Hill Parks Famous Tree», 9.3km
Richmond Hill's View», 8.0km
Queen Mary's Rose Garden», 1.9km