Created by an Almost-Bard
A Bard by name, dog-fighting and a ghostly lady under one roof
Location: 99 Buckingham Palace Road, SW1W 0RP
Description: This public house has gained quite a rich heritage over the years.
'The Shakespeare' was built and named in 1826 by the then landowner, John Shakespeare, alas no real relation to young William. The basement has a criminal past with dog-fighting a regular occurrence on the original flagstones (which are still there) and to top all of this, there's a ghost.
A Victorian lady dressed in black has often been spotted by staff and guests frequenting the hostelry presumably waiting for a drink!
Tours: Elizabethan & Stuart London
Themes: Pub|
A Bard by name, dog-fighting and a ghostly lady under one roof |
Ranking This Month: 1010/3085
Pages Hit This Month: 159
Your Comments:
Other places nearby:
Sherlock Holmes was Written Here», 1.1km
Once home to Sheila Hancock», 2.5km
Pie Pub's Unusual Plaque», 1.5km
The Mason's Arms», 1.4km
The Mayflower Inn», 3.9km
The Royal Oak», 2.3km
The Three Stags», 1.4km
The Holly Bush», 4.4km
The First Coffee Shop in London», 2.7km
Comptons of Soho», 1.2km
Location Pinpointed:
Open Street Maps», Google Maps»
