Tours | Categories (New, Hot) | Map
Alcohol - Ancient - Animal - Architecture - Art - Aviation - Boxing - Celebrity - Charity - Children - Church - Cinema - Comedy - Crime - Dance - Death - Disaster - Drugs - Fashion - Food - Gambling - Ghost - Grave - Health - Historical - Industry - Justice - LGBT - Literary - Look Up - Medical - Military - Motoring - Murder - Museum - Music - Nature - Naval - Paranormal - Pioneer - Poetry - Police - Politics - Pub - Public Amenities - Quirky - Religion - Retail - Ripper - River - Royalty - Science - Sculpture - Sex - Signs - Society - Sport - Subterranean - Technology - Theatre - Train - Transport - Tube - TV - Weather -
IN THE NEWS
TOUR OF THE MONTH
ON THIS DAY IN LONDON
28th February 1922 The Princess Mary, daughter of King George V was married to Viscount Lascelles in Westminster Abbey.
28th February 1918 Born today: Alfred Burke, London England, actor (Backfire)
28th February 1916 Henry James, US/British writer (Bostonians), dies in London at 72
28th February 1728 Georg F Handels opera Siroe, re di Persia, premieres in London
Film Notting Hill was partly shot here at Kenwood House.
Location: Hampstead Lane, Hampstead, London, NW3 7JR
Description: This lovely house is set in tranquil panaromic parkland and boasts gorgeous period interiors and fine art by many great artists.
Irish brewing magnate, Edward Cecil Guinness, the 1st Earl of Iveagh, bought Kenwood House in 1925 and it is thanks to him that you can admire masterpieces by Rembrandt, Turner, Reynolds, Gainsborough and Vermeer here. When he died in 1927, he bequeathed the house, estate and part of his collection of pictures to the nation. As such the house is also called The Iveagh Bequest.
The brochure tells us Admire the Suffolk Collection, with its magnificent full-length Elizabethan portraits and stunning costume details. Or take a turn outside, in parkland influenced by the great English landscape gardener, Humphry Repton. There are also lakeside walks and meandering woodland paths to explore and enjoy.
The house (formerly called Caen Wood) was remodelled by legendary architect Robert Adam between 1764 and 1779, transforming the original brick building into a majestic villa for the great judge, Lord Mansfield. The richly decorated library is one of Adam's great masterpieces.
Some scenes from the film Notting Hill were filmed here.
Tagged in this Tour: architecture sights you must see