Tours | Categories (New, Hot) | Map
Alcohol - Ancient - Animal - Architecture - Art - Aviation - Boxing - Celebrity - Charity - Children - Church - Cinema - Comedy - Crime - Dance - Death - Disaster - Drugs - Fashion - Food - Gambling - Ghost - Grave - Health - Historical - Industry - Justice - LGBT - Literary - Look Up - Medical - Military - Motoring - Murder - Museum - Music - Nature - Naval - Paranormal - Pioneer - Poetry - Police - Politics - Pub - Public Amenities - Quirky - Religion - Retail - Ripper - River - Royalty - Science - Sculpture - Sex - Signs - Society - Sport - Subterranean - Technology - Theatre - Train - Transport - Tube - TV - Weather -
IN THE NEWS
TOUR OF THE MONTH
ON THIS DAY IN LONDON
24th March 1947 Businessman Alan Sugar (The Apprentice, Amstrad), was born in Hackney, East London.
24th March 1888 Born today: Jameson Thomas, London England, actor (Farmer's Wife)
24th March 1834 Pioneering textile designer and artist William Morris was born in Walthamstow.
24th March 1792 Benjamin West (US) becomes president of Royal Academy of London
The Queen's House
Inigo Jones's first major commission, The Queen's House.
Location: Greenwich, London
Description: The Queen's House was commissioned by Anne of Denmark, the wife of James I (who reigned 160325). James was often at the Tudor Palace of Greenwich, where the Old Royal Naval College now stands as it was as important a residence of the early Stuart dynasty as it had been for the Tudors. Traditionally he is said to have given the manor of Greenwich to Anne in apology for having sworn at her in public, after she accidentally shot one of his favourite dogs while hunting in 1614.
In 1616 Anne commissioned Inigo Jones (15731652), who had risen to fame as a designer of court entertainments and was appointed Surveyor of the King's Works the following year, to design a new pavilion for her at Greenwich.
It was Jones's first important commission and the first fully Classical building seen in England. Though generally called Palladian in style, its prime model was the Medici villa at Poggio a Caiano, by Giuliano de Sangallo.
Since 2001 the House has showcased the Museum's fine-art collection, with an ongoing programme of displays and temporary exhibitions, including contemporary work.