Millicent Fawcett Statue

Millicent Fawcett Statue

The first female statue in Parliament Square.

Location: Parliament Square, Westminster

Description: This statue of Millicent Fawcett was erected in Parliament Square on 24th April 2018, after a campaign to erect the first statue of a woman in Parliament Square. The campaign, led by Caroline Criado Perez, had more than 84,000 signatures. It is also the first in Parliament Square by a woman.

The statue by Gillian Wearing holds a banner with a quote from a speech she gave in the aftermath of Emily Davison's death during the 1913 Epsom Derby. It reads Courage calls to courage everywhere.

Dame Millicent Garrett Fawcett GBE (18471929) was a feminist and author, primarily known for her work as a campaigner for women's suffrage.

She became president of the National Union of Women's Suffrage Societies from 1897 (the moment depicted in the statue) until 1919, and in July 1901 she led the British government's commission to South Africa investigating conditions in the concentration camps that had been created there after the Second Boer War.

The names and images of these 55 women and four men are listed on the base of the statue; they also supported women's suffrage:

Louisa Garrett Anderson
Margery Corbett Ashby
Margaret Ashton
Minnie Baldock
Frances Balfour
Lydia Becker
Rosa May Billinghurst
Teresa Billington-Greig
Helen Blackburn
Ada Nield Chew
Frances Power Cobbe
Jessie Craigen
Emily Wilding Davison
Charlotte Despard
Flora Drummond
Elizabeth Clarke
Wolstenholme Elmy
Isabella Ford
Henrietta Franklin
Mary Gawthorpe
Eva Gore-Booth
Anna Haslam
Claude Hinscliff
Laurence Housman
Edith How-Martyn
Elsie Inglis
Annie Kenney
George Lansbury
Minnie Lansbury
Mary Lowndes
Mary Macarthur
Margaret Mackworth, 2nd Viscountess Rhondda
Chrystal MacMillan
Catherine Marshall
Eva McLaren
Priscilla Bright McLaren
Dora Montefiore
Edith Mansell Moullin
Catherine Osler
Maud Palmer, Countess of Selborne
Adela Pankhurst
Christabel Pankhurst
Emmeline Pankhurst
Sylvia Pankhurst
Emmeline Pethick-Lawrence
Frederick Pethick-Lawrence
Agnes Pochin
Eleanor Rathbone
Sarah Reddish
Annot Robinson
Esther Roper
Lolita Roy
Agnes Maude Royden
Julia Scurr
Hanna Sheehy-Skeffington
Sophia Duleep Singh
Nessie Stewart-Brown
Ray Strachey
Helena Swanwick
Ellen Wilkinson.

Themes: PioneerPioneer Theme  SculptureSculpture Theme  PoliticsPolitics Theme
Millicent Fawcett Statue

The first female statue in Parliament Square.

Ranking This Month: 1628/3067

Pages Hit This Month: 30

Your Comments:

Your email will ONLY be used once, to confirm the publication of your comments. We value your contribution and privacy.

Anti-spam Security: Please enter this code:

Other places nearby:

John Harvards Home», 1.5km

Stuntman Blondins Niagara Villa», 8.0km

The Harvard Chapel», 1.6km

It's For You-Who», 0.7km

Inventor of Holograms lived here», 2.2km

Wynkyn de Worde, Fleet St Father», 1.4km

Microphone Inventor lived Here», 1.4km

London's First Traffic Island», 0.7km

Safety champion Shaws house», 1.2km

Howard Carter's Birthplace», 2.8km

Location Pinpointed:

Open Street Maps», Google Maps»